TinTin++ Mud Client The TinTin++ message board

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
TinTin++ Mud Client

WinTin++ 2.00.8 on Windows 7

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The TinTin++ message board Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Silver Surfer



Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 2:50 am    Post subject: WinTin++ 2.00.8 on Windows 7 Reply with quote

On XP (I have SP3 installed), all working fine.

On Windows 7 (Professional, SP1): WinTin++ 2.00.8 window opens (and "WinTin++" taskbar button appears), but immediatly opens mintty window (an appears additional, "mintty", taskbar button) - over the WinTin++ window (overlaing part of this by self). If to close mintty window, program exits completely. At today moment, I have to minimize mintty window every time I launch WinTin++ Confused. Please fix (if possible), for behavior "as on XP".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Mon Jan 16, 2012 11:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't have Windows 7 running at the moment, so I can't look into this.

Feel free to look for a solution yourself.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Silver Surfer



Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried some tricks, f.e. tried to modify "mintty windows program settings" (to force its window minimize on start). Unfortunately, w7 doesn't support that xp tricks...

It needed I think to modify mintty executable, so w7 won't register it at its startup as "common program" (giving to it its taskbar button, and mercifully showing its console window) - such is done (and works) for xp, but w7 has its own (brand new) handling of all these.

Or at least, modify mintty executable, so it will "minimize self" at its startup.

Also, will try compatibility.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Silver Surfer



Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 20

PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, current workaround - in mintty window, click on the icon in upper left, select "settings", uncheck "position window automatically", and enter window coordinates (position of upper-left corner of window) something like 1000 - 1000 (or more). Then mintty window shows, but far beyond screen borders.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Huhenyo



Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Tue Feb 05, 2013 1:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Has anyone found a true fix to this? I'll use the workaround for now, but I'm hoping there is a better way to suppress that mintty window.

Thanks guys
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Huhenyo



Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Mon Jul 21, 2014 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's been awhile. Has anyone found a way around this? It is quite annoying to have two windows all the time. Sure, you can minimize one, but then it takes up extra room on the task bar. I run multiple sessions, so this is even more annoying. Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Tue Jul 22, 2014 7:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can install Cygwin and go that route.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Azvgi5Ssmpc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Huhenyo



Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, no wonder you chose to go with Mintty. Much smaller, and much easier for the noobs like me. Smile I might give cygwin a try, but wow, what a pain.

Thank you Scandum
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Huhenyo



Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I got that working thanks to the youtube video link. Now I have a question. I'm pretty sure I don't need all those 500mb of files to get it to do what tintin++ 2.01.0 does without the extra mintty box popping up. In the cygwin install, I copied tt++.exe to the bin directory and then created a shortcut for Mintty. I think added some parameters to read ./tt++.exe and execute a .txt script that I've written. It works beautifully and doesn't have the extra Mintty window pop-up. Now my question is, what is the barebones needed to continue to keep that stinking Mintty window from popping up?

I tried copying just my .txt script file, tt++.exe, Mintty.exe and the shortcut, and cygwin1.dll to a new directory, and lo and behold the stinking Mintty window again. So, I guess my question is, what specific files of those 500mbs worth are the ones that supress that Mintty window from popping up. I would like to copy just those files to my new directory so that I don't get the pop up, but so I don't have to have 500mb worth of files to accomplish it either.

Am I making any sense? I'm guessing I could get down to 10 or so files and still have it do what I need it to do. This makes it much easier to transfer and share with others. 500mb is a lot harder.

Thank you in advance, Scandum!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You get a lot of extras with those 500 mb. You may want to use the #run #script and #system commands at one point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Huhenyo



Joined: 10 Sep 2010
Posts: 44

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I realize that, but I'm using the application for a very specific purpose and I don't need a lot of bells and whistles to accomplish what I need to accomplish. I use it to automate some functions of my job and others' jobs within my organization, so I really only use #action, #echo, #verb, #highlight, #alias, #delay, an one other that get's the time and date (can't think of it at the moment) - I think that is about it. the regular Wintin install was plenty for what I needed. I'm just confused as to why the cygwin install doesn't cause the extra mintty window to popup when I'm using Mintty.exe, calling tt++ and running a script just like I did in the wintin install. Is it the way the cygwin1.dll interacts with the other .dll and application files that makes it so the mintty window doesn't popup?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have no idea, even the mintty developer is clueless.

You can run wintin++ directly inside the windows command shell if you can put up with the crappy terminal emulator.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
stb73



Joined: 13 Mar 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Mar 13, 2016 3:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The following solves the extra window issue for me ( Win7 Enterprise
    Start with clean wintin++.2.01.1.msi
    Move some files to <TINTIN-INSTALL-DIR>\bin (see code block)
    Add <TINTIN-INSTALL-DIR>\bin\cygwin-console-helper.exe


Code:
C:\>tree /f /a "WinTin++"
Folder PATH listing
Volume serial number is xxxx-xxxx
C:\WINTIN++
|   COPYING.txt
|   FAQ.txt
|   Uninstall.lnk
|   WinTin++.lnk
|
\---bin
        cygwin-console-helper.exe
        cygwin1.dll
        mintty.con
        mintty.exe
        tt++.exe
        tt++.ico
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Awesome, works for windows 10 as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
dawang10



Joined: 14 Feb 2015
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 5:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can anyone clean wintin++ 2.01.1.msi by this method so we can use wintin++ just 2 mb only rather than cgywin please?

I have no idea how to clean .msi file.

Thanks a lot in advance

stb73 wrote:
The following solves the extra window issue for me ( Win7 Enterprise
    Start with clean wintin++.2.01.1.msi
    Move some files to <TINTIN-INSTALL-DIR>\bin (see code block)
    Add <TINTIN-INSTALL-DIR>\bin\cygwin-console-helper.exe


Code:
C:\>tree /f /a "WinTin++"
Folder PATH listing
Volume serial number is xxxx-xxxx
C:\WINTIN++
|   COPYING.txt
|   FAQ.txt
|   Uninstall.lnk
|   WinTin++.lnk
|
\---bin
        cygwin-console-helper.exe
        cygwin1.dll
        mintty.con
        mintty.exe
        tt++.exe
        tt++.ico
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dawang10



Joined: 14 Feb 2015
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand now. I created bin folder in wintin, moved some files to the bin folder.

But where can I get cygwin-console-helper.exe?

stb73 wrote:
The following solves the extra window issue for me ( Win7 Enterprise
    Start with clean wintin++.2.01.1.msi
    Move some files to <TINTIN-INSTALL-DIR>\bin (see code block)
    Add <TINTIN-INSTALL-DIR>\bin\cygwin-console-helper.exe


Code:
C:\>tree /f /a "WinTin++"
Folder PATH listing
Volume serial number is xxxx-xxxx
C:\WINTIN++
|   COPYING.txt
|   FAQ.txt
|   Uninstall.lnk
|   WinTin++.lnk
|
\---bin
        cygwin-console-helper.exe
        cygwin1.dll
        mintty.con
        mintty.exe
        tt++.exe
        tt++.ico
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dawang10



Joined: 14 Feb 2015
Posts: 66

PostPosted: Sun Dec 11, 2016 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Done.

to be clear, I was confused by "clean wintin++.2.01.1.msi"

1 install msi

2 create a new folder named bin in wintin++ folder

3 move cygwin1.dll
mintty.con
mintty.exe
tt++.exe
tt++.ico
to bin folder

and add cygwin-console-helper.exe to bin folder

4 change the directory of wintin++ shortcut to

WinTin++\bin\mintty.exe -c ./bin/mintty.con -i ./bin/tt++.ico -t WinTin++ -e ./bin/tt++.exe -r ./main.tin

stb73 wrote:
The following solves the extra window issue for me ( Win7 Enterprise
    Start with clean wintin++.2.01.1.msi
    Move some files to <TINTIN-INSTALL-DIR>\bin (see code block)
    Add <TINTIN-INSTALL-DIR>\bin\cygwin-console-helper.exe


Code:
C:\>tree /f /a "WinTin++"
Folder PATH listing
Volume serial number is xxxx-xxxx
C:\WINTIN++
|   COPYING.txt
|   FAQ.txt
|   Uninstall.lnk
|   WinTin++.lnk
|
\---bin
        cygwin-console-helper.exe
        cygwin1.dll
        mintty.con
        mintty.exe
        tt++.exe
        tt++.ico
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The TinTin++ message board Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Get TinTin++ Mud Client at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Get TinTin++ Mud Client at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
TinTin++ Homepage

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group