TinTin++ Mud Client The TinTin++ message board

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
TinTin++ Mud Client

text doesn't displayed correctly when actions are triggered

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The TinTin++ message board Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
curist



Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:35 pm    Post subject: text doesn't displayed correctly when actions are triggered Reply with quote

when some actions are triggered, I always get the following one line cut in half. well, not always, but about 80% of the time.
I'm playing a chinese mud, so I'm not sure if it's a big5 issue or some strange escape code causing this..

it's something like this.
Quote:
#ACTION {^你的易筋經效果消失了。$}={heart egingin} @ {5}

original:
Quote:
你的易筋經效果消失了。

displayed:
Quote:
你的
易筋經效果消失了。


or..
room description
Quote:
羅德斯藥水店
這裡是一家藥水店, 賣的都是一些奇奇怪怪的藥水, 不過還蠻好
用的. 你可以下 list 看看商店裡有哪些東西, 如果你想買時可
以下 buy xxx, 價格方面還算合理就是了.

my action..
Quote:
#ACTION {^這裡是一家藥水店, 賣的都是一些奇奇怪怪的藥水, 不過還蠻好$}={buy 100 hp;buy 100 pp} @ {5}

expected
Quote:
你的特級藥水罐數或總藥水罐數已經達到滿檔, 不用再購買了.
你的內力藥水罐數或總藥水罐數已經達到滿檔, 不用再購買了.

what I saw
Quote:
你的
特級藥水罐數或總藥水罐數已經達到滿檔, 不用再購買了.
你的
內力藥水罐數或總藥水罐數已經達到滿檔, 不用再購買了.


It may seems to be the problem of escaped color code, but
Quote:
你大喝
: 10倍 界王拳Ecstatic

something like this happens, too.

without actions enabled, these all displayed fine.
I've tried my best to trace the code(1.99.8), and the substitute function in tinexp.c looks suspicious to me, but no luck so far..

version tested: 1.99.8, 1.99.9, 2.00.0, 2.00.2, 2.00.3, tried both with or without big5 support.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sounds like a packet fragmentation issue, so you could try using: #config {packet patch} {0.5}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
curist



Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 7:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I tried exactly that command, doesn't help.
the words always split up by the same way, any idea?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've bookmarked this topic and I'll look into it when I have time.

Can you reproduce it using only #showme and an action? And do you have BIG5 support enabled?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
curist



Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

interesting..

room description
Quote:
羅德斯藥水店
Action triggered!
這裡是一家藥水店, 賣的都是一些奇奇怪怪的藥水, 不過還蠻好
用的. 你可以下 list 看看商店裡有哪些東西, 如果你想買時可
以下 buy xxx, 價格方面還算合理就是了.

明顯出口有: west.
help(Mivis:戰士) [斷線中]正站在這個地方。


action first try
Quote:
#act {^這裡是一家藥水店, 賣的都是一些奇奇怪怪的藥水, 不過還蠻好$}{#showme {Action triggered!}}


displayed
Quote:
羅德斯藥水店
Action triggered!
這裡是一家藥水店, 賣的都是一些奇奇怪怪的藥水, 不過還蠻好
用的. 你可以下 list 看看商店裡有哪些東西, 如果你想買時可
以下 buy xxx, 價格方面還算合理就是了.


it just displayed correctly!
and action second try
[quote]action first try
Quote:
#act {^這裡是一家藥水店, 賣的都是一些奇奇怪怪的藥水, 不過還蠻好$}{#showme {Action triggered!}}

Quote:
羅德斯藥水店
Action triggered!
這裡是一家藥水店, 賣的都是一些奇奇怪怪的藥水, 不過還蠻好
用的. 你可以下 list 看看商店裡有哪些東西, 如果你想買時可
以下 buy xxx, 價格方面還算合理就是了.

明顯出口有: west.
(聖潔光芒) 麗鳥青見(Peisu:進階牧師)正站在這個地方。
help(Mivis:戰士) [斷線中]正站在這個地方。
你的
特級藥水罐數或總藥水罐數已經達到滿檔, 不用再購買了.


currently using 2.00.3 --enable-big5
so much thanks that you are willing to help this.
and, tt++ is awesome, just love its simplicity Big Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
curist



Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 10:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hey, I guess this will no longer be an issue.
I tried 2.00.4 with #define UTF8, and play with GNU screen to do the encoding stuff, everything just work like a charm Big Smile

thx so much for your effort Ecstatic
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Sat Sep 25, 2010 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, must have been a word wrapping issue then.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
m8403051



Joined: 11 Sep 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2016 10:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am same issue w/ ver 2.01.1
In my mud (es.muds.net#8000), there is a prompt ">" in the first char of the line, but if there is a continus output from mud, it will not show prompt char.

the issue is, if there is the ">" in the line, and get a message from mud, it will sparate into 2 lines. and this issue is based on #config charset.

normal display
Code:

> 中文 test(Ako)走了過來


(w/o ">", all charset the same)
Code:

中文 test(Ako)走了過來


<ascii> & <utf-8>
w/ ">"
Code:

>
中文 test(Ako)走了過來


<big5>
Code:

> 中文
 test(Ako)走了過來


I found the new line will be inserted into the first non-chinese word
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Slysven



Joined: 10 Apr 2011
Posts: 365
Location: As "Jomin al'Bara" in WoTMUD or Wiltshire, UK

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Strange, I'm getting mojibake viewing this page and looking at the page source I see that the very top of the HTML contains:
Code:
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
Is that correct - shouldn't the server be giving out "charset=utf-8"?

EDIT: Actually no, I'm missing a lot of Far-Eastern Glyphs and getting square boxes with the code-points in {FireFox action on detecting an unavailable glyph I guess} but could - I suppose - that be related to given the wrong character for the HTML?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The mud uses big5 right?

Try packet patch if you haven't already.

Are you using #split?

Assuming you tried packet patch, not sure why it inserts a new line.

I'll take a look at big5 word wrapping when I get the chance.

Slysven, will fix the issue with the html header. TinTin will log in ascii when utf-8 is enabled. Smile Not sure if I should mess with the header of the board.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
m8403051



Joined: 11 Sep 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 9:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, This mud uses big5.
I have config packet patch to 0.25 and nothing different. And no, i dont use #split.

By the way, I guess the issue is not caused by big5 word wrap because ascii & utf-8 have the same new line insert.

this issue only happened when there is a "> "(> and space) prompt in the head of line and this prompt doesn't include a new line char.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
m8403051



Joined: 11 Sep 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

after traced, the new line is inserted by telopt.c line 514
Code:

if (HAS_BIT(ses->flags, SES_FLAG_SPLIT) || !IS_SPLIT(ses))
{
    cpdst++ = '\n';
    gtd-mud_output_len++;
}


and the !IS_SPLIT(ses) return true in my case.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's supposed to add a new line right after the prompt if the MUD sends IAC GA or IAC EOR. I'm not sure why it's messing up for you.

Could block the EOR telnet negotiation.

Double check with #config debug on while connecting to your mud, but could try this:

#event {IAC WILL EOR} {#nop}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
m8403051



Joined: 11 Sep 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

#config {debug telnet} {on}
<user input a enter>

RCVD IAC GA
> _


I try to set #event {IAC WILL EOR} {#echo IAC} and this event not be trigged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 9:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Might have to capture {IAC WILL GA} instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
m8403051



Joined: 11 Sep 2016
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Code:

#config {debug telnet} {on}
#event {IAC WILL EOR} {#echo {EOR event}}
#event {IAC WILL GA} {#echo {GA event}}

<user press ENTER>
ECVD IAC GA
> _


I guess those 2 events were not trigged.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3770

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Need to set those before you connect to the mud. Assuming your mud negotiates it upon connect.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The TinTin++ message board Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Get TinTin++ Mud Client at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Get TinTin++ Mud Client at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
TinTin++ Homepage

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group