TinTin++ Mud Client The TinTin++ message board

 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
TinTin++ Mud Client

#split doesn't stay

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The TinTin++ message board Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dlynes



Joined: 31 Jan 2006
Posts: 4
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 12:54 am    Post subject: #split doesn't stay Reply with quote

Scrolling text, triggered #actions, ...

Lots of things seem to force my cursor to the line above the #split line, instead of under it
Also, #split n, where n>1 draws a bunch of lines at the top of the window as well, instead of making the split pane at the bottom of the window n rows tall
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Tue Jan 31, 2006 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Use #split 0 2, the first number is the number of top lines, the second the number of bottom lines.

The cursor position being lost is likely the result of a bad connection, you can deal with this by setting #config {packet patch} to a number between 500 and 10000 milli seconds. It'll cause tintin to get stuck on prompts tho, unless the mud sends IAC GA/EOR or allows you to end prompts with a carriage return.


Last edited by Scandum on Mon May 01, 2006 4:05 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
jroper73



Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Fri Feb 24, 2006 5:38 pm    Post subject: I have the same issue Reply with quote

I have the same issue.

I DO NOT have a bad connection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Sat Feb 25, 2006 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did you try #config {packet patch} ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kelmvor



Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 7:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've got the same problem.
I know its not connection, cause it happens when connected to localhost
As for using patch packet, why would that cause it to mess up with prompts?

Seems like a needed bugfix since its obviously is a reoccuring issue...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Setting packet patch should fix quite a few instances where the cursor position is lost.

It's indeed odd that packet fragmentation would occure on a connection to local host. If you have a repeatable method that will cause the cursor to get stuck, and setting packet patch, I can look into it. I haven't ran into this problem myself yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
chromme



Joined: 01 May 2006
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="Scandum"]Setting packet patch should fix quite a few instances where the cursor position is lost.

It's indeed odd that packet fragmentation would occure on a connection to local host. If you have a repeatable method that will cause the cursor to get stuck, and setting packet patch, I can look into it. I haven't ran into this problem myself yet.[/quote]


The #split disappearing problem has been bugging me a bit. On my laptop (fedora core 5), I noticed #split disappearing (v. 1.95.8, compiled from source). At work, on one of the boxes, I installed an older version, on fedora core 3). #split wasn't disappearing on that work system.

That was a pointer: if I now run "xterm" on home system, I get no #split disappearing. If I run "gnome-terminal", which is the default, the line disappears. This is probably some sort of compatibility issue that gnome-terminal is failing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Mon May 01, 2006 4:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure what you mean with #split disappearing.

If you mean the cursor getting stuck above the split line it's possible that some terminals are more prone to this than others.

What tintin version wasn't displaying these problems with gnome-terminal?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Kelmvor



Joined: 18 Apr 2006
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, I was having this problem on a friends mud, and set packet patch to 500. I then worked it down to 200 (anything below that and slist still reset the cursor position).

BTW, this was also on WinTin++ 1.95.8 I think, but I figure that should carry over.

It may be an issue with the client thinking that a line has ended and setting the #split to that, then when it receives more input (say using slist in a SMAUG MUD), it gets lost and instead sets it to the bottom of the input screen.

Suggestion: Look into programs that use frames (I think MP3Blaster for console does), and see how they handle such things. I don't know much about this kind of coding, but it may help you be able to set a permanent #split instead of just having it display a line and not having any real break between input and output. Possibly set it so that the code allows the output to be displayed between lines 1 - x, and then input be x+1 - y, then have that run from a config file like it does currently.

Hope that may help.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Fri May 05, 2006 4:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As far as I know the current method is the only option for a terminal window. I'll look into why and how the cursor is lost and if I can fix up the behavior. #conf {packet patch} remains the only correct way to deal with it tho.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dashkal



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2006 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Found a surefire way to force it up (with packet patch 500)

the system session has #split, and henc eall child sessions inherit it.

start tt++ (packet patch is set to 500, split is started with default parameters)

connect one session
connect a second session to teh same mud

my first session sees the second log in, and the second immediately has it's cursor placed over the split line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2006 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can't quite reproduce that, I typed the following:

#split
#conf {packet patch} {500}
#ses x localhost 4321
name1
psw1
#ses y localhost 4321
name2
psw2

This however didn't result in the cursor being lost. Some muds require a packet patch value of 1000 or even 2000. Another possibility is that the muds sends out terminal control codes, I guess this could be tested by enabling #con {convert meta} on, and see if the cursor is lost in that case as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dashkal



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2006 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

both muds are configured to send the telnet GA code so I don't get prompt lag with the packet patch,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 12:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see, just to be sure, does it still happen when packet patch is set to 2000?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dashkal



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun May 14, 2006 12:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I set packet patch to 2000, and narrowed it down to the prompt itself.
As soon as the prompt appeared, the split broke. The prompt did appear two seconds later.
Turning off telnetga for one/both sessions did not help me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Possibly your mud sends some weird escape code.

Can you try enabling: #config {convert meta} on, before logging on, and see if it still breaks split that way?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dashkal



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2006 2:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, breaks it anyway.

Here's the prompt with convert on:
(prophecy is the name of the first session)

Quote:
[prophecy] \e[0m\e[1;32mProphecy: \e[1;34mEditor: \e[1;33mVis: Invis 10, Incog \e[1;37m>
\e[1;37m\e[0m\e[0m\e[0m


Soon as I see that prompt, split breaks

Incidently, with convert on like that, I was unable to simply press return to enter as one of my mud's login screen requires. hitting space first worked, though.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks okay to me, you can try using a different terminal though and see if the same error occurs.

If that's not it you can perhaps give me your mud's name with instructions how to recreate the problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dashkal



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 11:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Something I forgot to mention

my login alias looks like this:
#alias {connect-prophecy} {#session prophecy <address> <port>; Prophecy; <password>; foo; #read retal-prophecy; #snoop prophecy}

the foo is just to skip a "press enter" prompt.

now the first one gets executed in gts, the second in the first's session.

As for the mud addy, while I could, it would be pointless as the code has multiplay protection. I'm an exception since I'm staff.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 12:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see, possibly the snooping is the problem? I can look into that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Dashkal



Joined: 19 Apr 2006
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sweet. sorry it took so long to mention I was snooping
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Mon Jun 05, 2006 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Did some checking today, but alas, I can't reproduce it with snooping either.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
unlock



Joined: 08 Nov 2005
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have this problem too. Setting packet patch fixes it, but then the first line of output often gets lost. First line in battle, or other important stuff. So have to play with split off and its pretty annoying.

My question is, how hard would it be to have it so the input text gets redrawn with split off instead of losing it? Would be nice to add this into tintin++ for the people that play muds where using #split is not possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Scandum
Site Admin


Joined: 03 Dec 2004
Posts: 3796

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think your problem is that your mud attaches text to the end of the prompt. If you have an involved programmer working on the mud you can ask him to fix it.

Otherwise you can script it as well:

Asuming prompt looks like: <hp:x mv:y>
Code:

#act {^<hp:%0 mv:%1>^} {#nop}

#act {~%2<hp:%0 mv:%1>%3} {#showme %2<hp:%0 mv:%1>;#showme %3;#gagline} {6}


This code does nothing if the prompt is on one line by it self, but splits the line when the prompt has text attached to it. Be aware this code uses a color trigger, so the second trigger might require more work to match the prompt correctly.

If that's no option either you can try #split 0 0 without any #prompt triggers which will create a single input line at the bottom.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    The TinTin++ message board Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Get TinTin++ Mud Client at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads Get TinTin++ Mud Client at SourceForge.net. Fast, secure and Free Open Source software downloads
TinTin++ Homepage

Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group